Is it worth me continuing my Spanish studies...?!

Steven   Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:49 am GMT
I've been learning Spanish for 8 years now and have failed in a spectacular fashion. I really wanted to speak it at a native like level (some of my family are native speakers). While I have a very extensive vocabulary, sadly it has been learnt in school via hundreds of vocabulary lists, as such I use a lot of words in the wrong context. I learnt the grammar out of textbooks and have to think of it when I speak. I make a quite a lot of mistakes, especially with regards to the past tenses and some uses of the subjunctive. I have a terrible accent that apparently sounds German (even though I'm not). I speak Spanish almost every day and have done for years. Is there really any chance for me to learn a native accent and learn Spanish properly, or has nearly a decade of internalizing my own mistakes pretty much screwed it up? Please be honest with me! If you have any advice on unlearning mistakes I'd love to hear it!

Yours, desperately

Steven
Guest   Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:58 am GMT
Try these tips

a. Get "advanced" level recordings and shadow them. Listen to them once or twice, then start speaking along with them. Then record your version alone and compare to the recordings. You are only doing this to improve the way you speak, but you will probably start to sound more natural in Spanish.

(If you sound German, are you pausing a lot between words?)

b. Get a review book like the old Schaum Spanish Grammar or the newer "The Ultimate Spanish Review and Practice book" and do a page a day for a year.

c. Listen to Spanish TV for fifteen minutes a day for a year. What spoken grammar do you notice? Take notes on usage, phrases that you hear.

d. Go to a Spanish-speaking country for the summer, a month, or two weeks and take an intermediate course (not advanced).

e. Listen to Spanish podcasts. "The Linguist" has some that you can listen to over the internet. You don't have to have an MP3.