I'm not good at spoken English.

David Bosch   Monday, May 19, 2003, 21:22 GMT
When I watch a film in British, the only problem I've got is due to the very different accents that take place in it. I get brimmey, posh, etc.
The posh accent (received pronunciation) is very understandable to me, it follows the phonetic ruels, but some others for instance pronounce 'baikon' instead of 'b@con',and moreover.

I'm fully sure almost all the time because I know the words and I've practised them for years, nevertheless when I don't, I look up in the dictionary.
David Bosch   Tuesday, May 20, 2003, 23:46 GMT

KT:
Good news, well, firstly thank you for your advice.

The assembly I was talking about took place this Monday.
I was the prsenter and blablabla.
Well, the point is that I didn't hide my accent which I really thought was weird, but thereupon everybody congratulated me, even though Britain is very special with accents. lol

Thank you very much.
KT   Wednesday, May 21, 2003, 03:46 GMT
David Bosch,

It's my pleasure to help and I am happy to know it went well.
How do you say "You're welcome" in German?
Boy   Wednesday, May 21, 2003, 08:04 GMT
Why do you watch British movies? Why don't you watch American movies?
Do you hear informal lingo in the British movies?
Simon   Wednesday, May 21, 2003, 08:11 GMT
What's wrong with British films? And why in the United Kingdom aren't American films classified as "World Cinema" along with the French, Spanish and Japanese films.
Myriam   Wednesday, May 21, 2003, 13:33 GMT
Hi, im a university student at Oxford.
I was wandering if you may be able to help me. I feel pretty confident in communicating to people even though i sometimes make mistake. I understand that making mistakes is a natural process whilst learning a second language. However, i do have a fear....... i feel very unconfident when having to make presentation in front of a huge number of people.