How not to lose English

Monika   Thursday, June 26, 2003, 08:29 GMT
I am Polish and I am a teacher of English in Poland. I teach young children. Unfortunately, I have noticed that my English is becoming less and less perfect as I have no chance to use it in real life situations here in Poland and I have no person to person contact with native speakers of English. Could you suggest any ways of not losing English? Thanks.
Kabam   Thursday, June 26, 2003, 08:45 GMT
Did you try to listen to British or American radios (On internet or on a RW compatible radio)?
Bayou Rover   Thursday, June 26, 2003, 08:53 GMT
Keep on practicing English all time you can. Listen to radio, watch television, read books and newspapers in English rather than Polish. While you don’t get the opportunity to talk with a native speaker out there, according to what you said, then why don’t you go fine a pen pal or chat with some native speakers on the internet with voice chat, if possible.
Monika   Thursday, June 26, 2003, 09:38 GMT
Yes, I listen to the radio, watch TV, read in English - however, I still lack some ( a lot of ! ) English words. How should I explain it to my pupils that I do not know the English equivalent to the Polish word they are asking for? I am the teacher, I should know everything for them. They are right, aren't they?
Kabam   Thursday, June 26, 2003, 10:05 GMT
Finding a pen pal or chat with some native speakers on the internet with voice chat seems to be a good idea.

>>>How should I explain it to my pupils that I do not know the English equivalent to the Polish word they are asking for? I am the teacher, I should know everything for them. They are right, aren't they?<<<

Well, I believe there is about 500.000 words in English so, no, I don't think you should know all of them. Anyway, if you teatch to young children, I don't expect them to ask for too complicated words.