How many hours do you practise English on an average?

Sam   Wednesday, February 25, 2004, 11:38 GMT
Why isn't the word "tense" spelt "tence" in British English
Fly   Wednesday, February 25, 2004, 16:44 GMT
I think " Practise" is the verb form and "practice" is the noun form, right?

e.g.

I practise piano every day.
I have my piano practice every day.
Monnio   Thursday, February 26, 2004, 12:42 GMT
Hi Everyone

Great to see so much of activity going on in the discussion-thread I started. Hope more learners would share their learning experiences.

Hi Shogo
I'm afraid you haven't understood the point - by practise, I mean practising to speak in spoken English - just Spoken English alone. This means I'd be shouting at the top of my voice for 3 hours or more, practising the pronunciations of individual words, or spoken expressions - each one of them several times. And I meant that I had started this practise 15 months back. The point is - I started learning English right from my first day in school, but that hardly helped - because that is written English. Yes believe me, spoken English and written English are worlds apart. After having finished my school and graduation, I found out that I still couldn't speak a few sentences in "proper" English, and so I started this exercise. I don't think it would help you if you count on just watching TV, or reading newspapers. Just like people go to the gym and target specific muscles and develop them, I've been targetting "Spoken English" specifically and working on it.

Hi Boy
Fifteen months ago, I was exactly in your position - I had hardly spoken a few sentences (or to put it properly, I could hardly speak a few sentences). That was why I embarked on this process. Of course, I can understand when you say that you lost your sleep over your compliments. It happens with me too...
Boy   Thursday, February 26, 2004, 16:57 GMT
Hi Monnio,