Anyone learned a language to native level?

Gabe   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 02:59 GMT
I've heard that it's only possible to learn a language to a native level (which I define for lack of a better measure to be being able to be mistaken for a native speaker on the telephone) if you start before about age 10. I've also heard that it's possible afterwards it's just that people don't because they're afraid to make mistakes, don't have peer pressure, have their identity, etc.

So, has anyone here actually learned another language to perfection, pronunciation and all? If you've learned another language, how well have you been able to learn it? Do you feel you still have room for improvement, and are able to improve it?

Right now I'm studying Chinese and Spanish and would like to perfect them (I mean, if 8 year olds can learn it, surely I -- an intelligent college student -- should be able to! Right?). But I suppose I should find out if that's a reasonable goal or not.
Brennus   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 05:24 GMT
It takes about 15 years to really learn a language. If you start now as a young college student in any foreign language you should be pretty good at it by around age 35.

Most people agree that children have an easier time learning another language than adults even though the reasons are not fully understood.
Frances   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 05:46 GMT
Brennus - more synaptic connections can be formed in kids I guess, plus an emptier mind.
Gabe   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 08:16 GMT
15 years to be "pretty good" as opposed to indistinguishable from a native?! Yikes... Well thanks for the heads up :-p
Ben   Tuesday, April 26, 2005, 08:45 GMT
If you learn for example Russian, then you can considerably speed up the learning process if you move to Russia and live there for at least a year. Having direct contact to Russians and Russian daily life will allow you to reach a very advanced stage after 1-2 years.