How can I disguise my native language?

star   Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:24 pm GMT
The above guest was me.
Guest   Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:33 pm GMT
But in order to do that you have to be fluent in German. Or could you convince them that you were perhaps Danish or something?
K. T.   Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:12 am GMT
"Man, where did you learn Italian? I studied for 1 year in Japan with a TV course from NHK but haven't used it since...Any suggestions for brushing it up?"

First, I'll give you my suggestion: Try "Ultimate Italian ADVANCED" by Living Language. I'll try to find the link where you can listen to three or four minutes of it for free. I borrowed it at my library. There is nothing wimpy about it even if the sample they share may seem easy at first.

Living Language Ultimate ADVANCED is a good brush-up for other languages too. I think it's much better than their regular beginner courses which have been around for years. LOL, my brother gave me the old RECORD courses. I guess a library had a sale.

Recently I was able to borrow a copy of their ultimate beginner-intermediate Arabic. I'm not in love with Arabic, but I'm tired of people asking me if I know it or plan to study it. This course looks IMPRESSIVE, so impressive, I may actual LEARN the language instead of playing with it.

About Italian: I speak French and Spanish at an advanced level, but my Italian is so-so. I have heard it passively for years, and studied it somewhat. When I lived in Japan, I knew an opera singer who only knew Italian and Japanese, so those were our languages of communication.
K. T.   Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:24 am GMT
http://www.randomhouse.com/livinglanguage/display.pperl?isbn=9781400020669

This is the link for the Ultimate Italian Advanced-just the description.

For some reason, they are offering free downloads of their beginner courses in several languages, not the link to the advanced.

They have a forum too.
K. T.   Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:35 am GMT