French or Spanish: which one do you recommend me?

Guest   Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:53 pm GMT
I would like to study both but sadly I have not time enough, so I need to concentrate on one of them , which one is better for my career? I'm a journalist.
Guest   Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:05 pm GMT
haven't you had enough of this yet?
BTW , who are you going to interview, Sarkozy or Shoemaker?
Guest   Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:14 pm GMT
not again!
Guest   Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:43 pm GMT
Does Zapatero speak French? I think he does.French is useful to interview these presidents.
PARISIEN   Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:23 pm GMT
Never go against your taste.
Choose the language with the sounds you love the best.

If you find both equally attractive and useful, better start with French. Many words look like English, that will ease the pain of dealing with the tricky pronunciation.
The rest of French vocabulary will offer a great introduction to Spanish. You will always find some time to learn it. Given its much simpler spelling it will be a cakewalk. You'll end up with two languages in your arsenal instead of one.

Just my 2 €-cent.
JT   Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:28 pm GMT
<<I would like to study both but sadly I have not time enough, so I need to concentrate on one of them , which one is better for my career? I'm a journalist.>>

If you're a journalist, then do some research and make that decision on your own. Nobody going to keep holding your hand throughout your life.
Guest   Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:37 pm GMT
Whatever you choose you're going to hit the target, so don't worry.
Guest   Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:55 pm GMT
If you are from USA, Spanish. If you are from Canada, French.

If you are from Europe, it depends on several things. Which countries you prefer to travel?

Acapulco, Majorca, Miami, Barcelona, Benidorm, Mexico, Caribbean, Canary islands or you prefer Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso, Congo, Togo or Benin?

(It is a joke)