The REAL importance of French

J.C.   Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:13 am GMT
Before starting my question I'd like to say I'm studying French at the moment and have nothing against the language or French speakers.

After readings countless postings about the importance of French I'd like to know what is FACT and what is a nationalistic defense of the language
since I NEVER needed French in my life either for jobs of travels and English has been more than enough at the time I was in college or then as a researcher in Japan, where I could read about ANY SUBJECT in English.
That doesn't mean, however, that English is an international language at a personal level. i.e, talking to the local people of non-English countries (English was useless to me when I went to Mexico, Argentina, Paraguay, Korea, China and Taiwan since I had to use the local languages to get by)while one travels but one can't deny its importance when it comes to doing business, research or reading about any subject one might have interest(I'm studying Dutch and Chinese with books written in English).
How about French? How useful is it at an international level?(Just being a language of the UN doesn't mean much to me because I've NEVER met French speakers in Japan, US or Brazil)
I'm not talking about elite in Vietnam that uses it as a kind of status or countries that have it as "official language", which doesn't reflect the actual usage of the language.

Thanks and I'm waiting for CONCRETE postings and with fonts other than wikipedia.
Slobodan Milosevic   Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:47 am GMT
<<Just being a language of the UN doesn't mean much to me>>

That's true. The UN thing is quite insignificant as, personally I haven't been to a whole lot of UN summits and I don't think they would give me access to a Security Council discussion.

So French is not really important unless you're a diplomat, and how many people are actually diplomats?
shiv   Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:35 am GMT