What's your English accent like?

CyberGhost   Sat Apr 22, 2006 7:42 pm GMT
LOL :) Sorry about that! Hope it works this time.

http://www.bestsharing.com/files/ms00145546/untitled.mp3.html
Liam   Sun Apr 23, 2006 7:17 am GMT
If American pronunciation was what you wanted to achieve, you've done well. It is quite clear, and the underlying accent is slight.
Michelle   Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:40 pm GMT
Here is mine:

Recording: http://www.sharon-tate.com/00-para.mp3
Accent I learned: Standard American English (like the one spoken in CNN).
Country of origin: USA (I have lived in the midwest (Chicago) all my life)
Native language: English
I can also speak a little German and I come from a Russian/German background. My grandfather had a german accent. I can also speak some Yiddish.
I think I have an EXTREMELY nasal sounding voice. I cannot hear it in normal conversation but others often tell me I am a typical midwesterner. I am an elementary school teacher and also have a degree in English and can pronounce things well I believe. I just always have had the midwest accent. On this audio piece I tried to sound as "normal" (whatever that is) as possible.
What is the name of the accent that basically all the newscasters and CNN people use? They seem to have no regional sound whatsoever.
Michelle   Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:42 pm GMT
Cesar, I have to say I adore your accent. My uncle was from Columbia nd his spanish accent was always so amazing and beautiful sounding to me. I especially like the way you said "newspaper" as news paper. Thanks, this was a fun idea!
Kirk   Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:46 pm GMT
CyberGhost, I agree with Liam. Nice recording :) Michelle, thanks also for your recording--I could hear some hints of Upper Midwesternness in your speech, which is cool. One of the things I particularly noticed was your pronunciation of "past" as the diphthong [e@], which is characteristic of much of the Upper Midwest but not done here in California.
nana   Wed May 03, 2006 10:45 pm GMT