A little search by me... Would you help me, please?

girl who needs help   Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:56 pm GMT
Hi, everyone =)
At first, please, let me apologize for this boring search, but I do need your help.
I'm Czech, so English is a second language for me (as for you - please, forgive me these senteces, but I've written this message not just here, but to another forums, where most of poeple are English). I study it at my school, thought we've got four lessons a week and that's not enough. I read a lot of fan fics, so I've got a little adventage against the others (I haven't heard that they're interested in reading) - that doesn't mean that I don't make mistakes - so, please, don't be angry with me if you find any.
I've been learning English for 8 years and I still think I'm bad beginner...

And now back to the point. I have to do a project for my English lesson. We were learning about wonders of the world (and then of Britain) few days ago, so... yes, we have to do a project about wonders of Czech republic... (though they're rather famous than anything else)
Well, and now it's up to you. No, don't be afraid, I don't want you to write it for me. I just want you to answer a question or two (or three - or all of them =))) ). If you did so, I'd be very glad.

'What do you know about... ?'
'What's the first you're thinking about when you hear... ?'
or just
'Have you ever heard about... ?' (I expect that some of them you won't even know)

Please, write down your age and country, too (great 'thank you' from me (to you, of course))

1) czech beer
2) czech girls
3) Charles IV. - Charles bridge, Charles University
4) Prague - so called 'Golden Prague' or 'Heart of the Europe' - and it's sights
5) czech musicians (classical music) - Smetana, Dvorak
6) czech scientists (for example chemists)
7) occupation in '68
8) velvet revolution in '89
9) the first president of Czechoslovakia Tomas Garrigue Masaryk