Radical spelling reform or partial modification?

Rodrigo   Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:31 pm GMT
I can only think of some cases where a reform is possible but I am not an expert in dialectal variety to choose a correct way. Nevertheless, I ask:
Publicly and Automatically (cly and cally sound close enough to be confusing)
Nation, Organization, vision, obsession, depression, decision (All, except maybe for vision, end in the same sound, yet they're spelt differently)

My last point may be biased by my first language because it's also very confusing in it.
Woodman   Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:46 pm GMT
"bridg" and "bridgh" just look like typos for "bridge".
guest   Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:54 pm GMT
Well, spelling reform doesn't have to mean conversion to a completely phonetic, one-spelling-fits-all-words type of situation. You get something that looks totally simplistic and WEIRD when you do that.

It's possible to have multiple varieties of spelling for the same sound-- just no isolated, unique spellings.
"Nation, Organization, obsession, depression" can still keep their individual spellings for the "-shun" sound rendered by either "-tion", "-[ss]ion" (the -ss of 'obsession' really belongs to the 'obsess' part of the word) because those spellings occur repeatedly in many words. Even "-cion" and "-sion" (like in 'fashion') in words would be fine. There is no need to alter "-tion" to look like it's pronounced, because the cluster "-tion" is always pronounced as "-shun".

This leaves the option to form words from various approved spelling forms to preserve the aesthetic nature of the written language, which is *very important* to its success. It's has been the lack of this, I believe, that has caused many to baulk at the notion of such a proposal.

Take for instance a phonetic spelling for 'nature'.