What languages would you like to learn?

LAA   Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:59 pm GMT
If you would like to learn an additional foreign language, what would it be, and why? I for one, would like to learn French some day. Not only is it one of the major languages of the world, but I am also attracted to it for a peculiar reason. It sounds like Latin to me, with a Celtic accent. I still love Italian, but it is not as widely spoken as French.
Benjamin   Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:34 pm GMT
I'll be studying French and German at university, so they're more or less taken care of as far as the future is concerned. Other than that...

I have some knowledge of Esperanto, but would like to be able to use it really well. If what you really want to do is know people from all over the world, be able to communicate with them on an equal level and be able to travel very cheaply, Esperanto is arguably the most useful language for you. It's also very easy.

Afrikaans — possibly the easiest 'official' language for native English speakers to learn, especially those who already have some knowledge of German. Again, I know some already, and it would make learning Dutch fairly straightforward.

Dutch — well, why not? It would seem like a good idea, considering the other languages I'd know by then.

I might consider resurrecting some of my Spanish later as well.
Aldvs   Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:09 pm GMT
My preferences goes to German and Japanese.
I think German is the most impressive language of the Germanic ones that I've heard. I would like to learn it if I would have the time enough. To really impress anybody I would bet for any version of Chinese (or Arabian) but its complex phonetics makes it a too hard work. So I'd prefer Japanese.
LAA   Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:47 pm GMT