Which one is more difficult?

Guest   Wed Oct 25, 2006 1:35 pm GMT
Drujnik

Why, are you fluent in all five of the languages then?
Drujnik   Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:51 pm GMT
No, im not. But I studied all of them before except Portuguese and Rumanian.With their conjugations, I think both spanish and italian are much more difficult to learn than English. Spanish and italian also have noun gender and you have to adjust the adjectives by looking at the gender of nouns. And in both languages you add the addictions to the end of the verb. For example you say " Yo hablo español" or "io parlo italiano", but not "yo hablar español" or "io parlare italiano" while you say it " I speak English" in English. Aren't I right?
Guest   Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:18 pm GMT
Yes, you are, and there's little doubt that English is easier to learn to a reasonable degree of proficiency. That's why I asked if you are fluent in all five languages, because reaching fluency in a language is another matter, and the difficulty by the time you reach anywhere near this level cannot just be measured in terms of things like verb conjugations and adjective endings.
DRUJNIK   Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:25 pm GMT
WHATEVER.I DON'T STILL AGREE THAT SPANISH OR ITALIAN IS EASIER TO LEARN THAN ENGLISH.BECAUSE THEY HAVE ALSO SO MANY EXCEPTIONS.
Guest   Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:46 pm GMT
Well, I wouldn't know as I only speak English (mother tongue) and German. But some people on this thread have stated that Spanish and Italian are easier than English so maybe they can give their reasons
Guest   Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:12 pm GMT
>>I DON'T STILL AGREE THAT SPANISH OR ITALIAN IS EASIER TO LEARN THAN ENGLISH.BECAUSE THEY HAVE ALSO SO MANY EXCEPTIONS<<

By the way, it's 'I still don't agree' and not 'I don't still agree'. This would imply that you did once agree, but no longer do, although it would still be awkward English Also it should be 'they also have' and not 'they have also' and the 'so many exceptions' bit doesn't sound right either.