Does English risk being replaced?

TS   Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:06 pm GMT
I was American born (can't change that unfortunately)...so I make an effort to change who I am. I know 3 languages so far (Eng., Spanish, Sign Language (ASL), and I'm currently studying Mandarin and trying my best to get material on Cebuano even though I may end up speaking Tagalog instead).

If I plan on visiting another country I would do my best to prepare by learning as much of the language as much as possible. Americans (the majority) demand that foreigners learn English...well, it's time Americans taste their own medicine. You go to another country....LEARN the language! If a non-English country comes to be a super power then adapt! LEARN the language.

I actually spoke to a person who had the nerve to ridicule me for making sure my children were at least bi-lingual. She looked down on the fact that I spoke Spanish to them at home. They get sufficient English exposure in school but I don't want them to forget their cultural roots (Mexico).

Thankfully a few people where I live have lightened up a bit in the last 2-3 years and started to make the effort to learn Spanish.
Guest   Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:17 pm GMT
Agree with what TS says. But unfortunately, it seems so few people are as wise as you are. So what to do to make more people realize this?
TS   Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:20 pm GMT
Just try to enlighten the few you can and try to be happy with it I suppose.
zzz   Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:35 pm GMT
>> You go to another country....LEARN the language! <<

Hmm. Yeah, right. Do you really think that an American is going to spend 5 years learning Bulgarian before he goes on a European tour for a week, and spends a day in an English language tour bus in Bulgaria? Remeber, we're pretty darn far away from other countries...Even Mexico and Quebec are pretty darn far away for most of us. It's not like Europe where an Englishman could take a weekend in Belgium.
TS   Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:48 pm GMT