I want to work in Europe - HELP

Rizzeck   Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:19 pm GMT
I'm graduating from a top 20 business school this May with honors and an additional history degree to boot. I speak rudimentary Spanish - I'm in my 4th semester at University - although can I read and write Spanish fairly well. I learn quickly and I would speak fluent Spanish within 1-2 months if immersed in the language. Is there a demand for English-only speakers in the European Union?

My interests are banking, international affairs, and public policy; I've had an internship and, so far, I've avoided jail time in America. Can someone direct me to websites that focus on finding jobs in the Euroland?
Benjamin   Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:49 pm GMT
When you say that you want to work in the European Union, it seems to me that you could mean one of two things:

1. You want to work for one of the European Union institutions, most probably (but not necessarily) in either Brussels, Strasbourg or Luxembourg.

2. You want to work in a member state of the European Union, but not actually for the European Union institutions themselves.

If it's the first, then you will probably have difficulty in finding a job if you only speak English. And in this circumstance, speaking English and Spanish would not be as advantageous as speaking English and French and/or German.

If it's the second, then there is plenty of demand for monolingual English speakers in the European Union — in Britain and Ireland.
Rizzeck   Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:26 pm GMT
Thanks Benjamin. I'm leaning toward option 2, although I want to work in Continental Europe rather than the British Isles. If there are any openings, please email me at bradleynomics@hotmail.com.
Benjamin   Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:45 pm GMT
In that case, why specifically the European Union? Why not Switzerland?
Guest   Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:26 am GMT
Or Norway?
D.Mare   Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:50 am GMT
Go to Barça or madrid, there are plenty of jobs there especially in the eastern