Horse/Hoarse and Poor/Pour

Shatnerian   Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:12 am GMT
I don't believe that I have ever heard these two sets pronounced in an un-merged dialect. Before I started studying accents and dialects, I was under the impression that they were always merged. I would be interested to know if anyone has an audio clip of the un-merged pronunciations. Which region has the sharpest distinction between the two?
Lazar   Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:13 pm GMT
As for "horse-hoarse", the traditional accent here in Massachusetts makes a very sharp distinction between those word classes. (The distinction is rare among young people here, but it's still relatively common among middle-aged and older people.) In a traditional Massachusetts accent, "hoarse" is ["hO@s]; and "horse" actually uses the merged "cot-caught" vowel, so it's ["hQ:s]. So you get homophones like "lord, laud", both ["lQ:d], and "cord, cod", both ["k_hQ:d].
Lazar   Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:19 pm GMT
I should add that the "poor-pour" distinction is a completely different issue from the "horse-hoarse" distinction, so they really shouldn't be lumped together. I'm horse-hoarse merged, but I distinguish between "poor" ["p_hU@`] and "pour" ["p_hO@`]. I'm under the impression that the "poor-pour" distinction, unlike the "horse-hoarse" distinction, is very common in North America.
Josh Lalonde   Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:14 pm GMT
Yes, unmerged poor-pour is very common in NA; I would say standard. Unmerged horse-hoarse is much less so. However, it is still the norm throughout the Carribean, and I believe is still common in Scotland.
I've uploaded a song to putfile that shows the unmerged forms, but I won't leave it up too long because it's copyrighted. You can clearly hear in the second verse that 'support' and 'throat' rhyme [sapuot] [t_Suot]
http://media.putfile.com/Stop-Dem-Talkin
andre in philly   Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:46 am GMT
I merge poor and pour. Where else in North America does this occur?
Guest   Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:00 am GMT