Is German really worth learning?

Guest   Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:10 pm GMT
Learning German gives you another weltanschauung.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwTJXHNP0bg
Ying   Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:19 am GMT
Adolfo wrote:
I studied Latin for one year and I don't see how It could had been useful to me.

You probably also learned mathematics in school, things like integration, solving equations, proofs. Do you feel that the more abstract mathematics were useful to you in dayly life? Learning Latin, Greek or German is tmho not a waste of time but a useful training combined with an insight in what are the bases of western culture. If you know Latin you can make a lot of connections between what is written or thought today and what was thought in the past. Possibly your interest in languages (documented in your participating to this forum) has something to do with your learning Latin in the past?
die Wahrheit   Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:41 pm GMT
I am not certain; I feel that most people who learn dead languages are rarely doing it for their enjoyment. I am willing to wager that most are doing so because it is career or academics related.

A person who likes a dead language will learn a few phrases, not the entire language. People who learn dead language are historians, archeologists, linguists, and students hoping to get a career in history, archeology, or linguistics ;-)

It is very rare to learn a language without the desire to use it.

I would not place German in the same category as Latin or Ancient Greek. Especially when most of the people who defined and re-defined the art of calculation in the last 250 years spoke German ;-)
Guest   Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:10 pm GMT