Majoring in Spanish

Guest 224   Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:10 pm GMT
If I am a student in Southern California that is studying to major in Spanish, which type of Spanish will they emphasize?

Spanish from Spain or Spanish from Latin America?

Spanish from Spain is obviously more standardized, but considering that I am in Southern California, Latin American Spain is much more prevalent.

Que' piensan ustedes?
Skippy   Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:51 pm GMT
I did a semester of Spanish at San Diego State (just for fun, b/c I'm a nerd) and my impression was that I was being taught Mexican Spanish (though perhaps some other Latin American variety) but definitely not Spanish from Spain.

It probably depends on the professor, school, etc. But I'd assume Mexican Spanish.
Guest   Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:54 am GMT
First of all Spanish from Spain is as different from Argentine Spanish as Mexican Spanish is from Colombian Spanish, therefore is not like a "Spain vs Latin America" thing.

Now as for which one is the most "standardized", All latin countries use "Ustedes" for (You (Plural)), and only Spaniards use "Vosotros", so you tell me which one is the most standardized?
Guest   Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:26 am GMT
In my opinion, the one from Spain is most standardized. Spaniards use both "ustedes" and "vosotros". Just because they use vosotros does not show that it is not standardized. Ustedes is the same as usted. It's just plural. Vosotros is just like tú. It's just plural. To the creator of this thread, learn "Latin American Spanish". You don't live in Spain, so there really isn't reason you should emphasize on Spanish from Spain. They say they teach Spain from Spanish around here, they don't. Doesn't really matter, SPANISH IS AWESOME! :]
furrykef   Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:31 am GMT