French or Italian?

Nana   Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:43 pm GMT
Hi everyone!
Which languae do you think I should learn? I like them both, but French a little more, because I like France and its literature. However, French seems to be harder in regards to pronounciation, while Italian is a phonetic language. Also, I'm very bad with pronounciation, and I'm afraid I won't be able to speak well. My first language was Polish, and I still have an accent when I talk English. Please help me decide!

I studied Spanish for the last to year, by the way.
Xie Z.A.   Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:23 pm GMT
Since both are fairly popular choices and you are interested in both, you may also consider some more things:

- which is easier because of more good learning materials and help from native speakers you can meet?

- My experience that, despite a few complicated rules and quite a few exceptions, French pronunciation is still fairly regular. Let's think out of the box. For every word item (or phrase; because French has liaison and I believe almost every language has its own unique expressions) has to be remembered through means so that each word enters into the long-term memory. Although easier spelling makes pronunciation easier, you still have to remember the word which is inseparable from the pronunciation. ALA you do enough regular practice, pronunciation and spelling shouldn't be too difficult.

It all comes down to two things: motivation and interest. Beyond the basic levels, whichever language you are learning, no matter how similar it is to any languages you already know (to different degrees), is equally difficult. You won't learn a supposedly easy language you don't like; but if you truly like things like Chinese, a script that is hardly phonetic, you would still try hard to learn it despite possible difficulties in practice.