Breton Language

Guest   Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:23 am GMT
I'm fascinated by the Celtic languages, but they are soo difficult! I wish I could speak one of them. How difficult is Breton compared to Irish, Scottish Gaelic, Welsh and Cumbric? Are they all mutually intelligible? About the situation of Breton in France , how many people understand it? I heard that this language is becoming more and more a dead one. I would be a pitty. How many people are still fluent in Breton?
Skippy   Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:54 pm GMT
I'm not an expert on the Celtic languages, but my understanding is that Breton is experiencing somewhat of a revival in Brittany (far northwestern region in France). It was somewhat mutually intelligible with Cornish but not that much with Welsh. It's definitely not mutually intelligible with Manx, Irish, or Scots Gaelic.

Like all the Celtic languages, it's fairly difficult, and in spoken language has retained some of the morphology that Welsh hasn't.

Let me know if I missed/got anything wrong.
Louis   Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:31 am GMT
I've heared that Celtic is considered by some experts as not being really Indo-European - is this the reason that it is so difficult to learn? How Indo-European is the Celtic language compared to Sanskrit, Latin, Greek, Iranian, German or Russian?
Guest   Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:08 am GMT
How come Celtic languages are now not Indoeurpean according to some scholars? They share the typical root words with other IE languages: brother, mother, father, night, the numbers from 1 to 10, and so on. Probably the Celtic Languages were the first family of languages which arrived to Europe.
Guest   Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:21 am GMT
Italo-Celtic is the one not considered Indo-European; there is no doubt about Celtic languages now.

Also, Celtic languages didn't "arrive to" Europe, they were originated in Europe. Or in Indo-Europe...
Guest   Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:30 am GMT