Would it be a good idea to learn French & Italian togeth

L'italofilo   Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:38 am GMT
Would it be a good idea to learn French & Italian together?
Or French & Spanish together? Or Italian & Spanish together?
Thank you very much for your suggestions(detailed reasons)!
furrykef   Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:00 am GMT
Hmm... I wouldn't recommend learning Spanish and Italian together. They're similar enough that it's easy to get them mixed up. French is different enough that you're probably much safer learning one of those and French together. French's phonology, morphology, and orthography are pretty different from the other languages, whereas Spanish and Italian are very similar in those respects.

I'm an intermediate Spanish student and, though I might like to learn Italian someday, I think it would still be a bad idea for me to do it right now... I think I should wait until I achieve a fuller fluency level in Spanish. Right now I'm just starting to develop fluency, and I'm quite a ways away from understanding the spoken language.

- Kef
L'italofilo   Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:12 am GMT
furrykef, grazie mille, I can understand what you said, now I completely exclude the feasibility of Italian & Spanish together. And which combination would be better then? "French+Italian"? "French+Spanish"? Thanks again!
Guest   Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:19 am GMT
You seem to have made your mind already.
Go for French + Italian.

Of course, one could also ask, do you have to learn two languages at the same time?
Guest   Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:30 am GMT
I don't totally agree with kef. From a phonological point of view Italian and French are quite different but grammatically and sintactically, in my opinion, they are more similar than Spanish to a certain extent:
Italian French:
use of two different verbs to form the compound tenses, spanish just one
the partitive article
some pronominal particles like in french y, en; Italian ci, ne, ce vi, ve.