Would it be a good idea to learn French & Italian togeth

Guest   Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:28 am GMT
qué dice la gente

que diche la yente (Italian pronunciation in Spanish)

Che dice la gente would be the Italian phrase.

But it is true that Italian can be easier by the fact that they don't use five letters of the alphabet found in Spanish and English.
DRP   Tue Dec 04, 2007 4:56 am GMT
Now I'm studying French & Italian together. Both are less difficult than German or Russian.
Guest   Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:10 am GMT
But it is true that Italian can be easier by

Italian isn't easy at all for a Spanish. Italian consonant system is much harder than the spanish one. It distinguishes simple and double consonants, vowel can be closed and open. Besides, in my view the italian grammar is a bit trickier than the spanish one. For instance the use of articles and prepositions are less regular than in Spanish. Noun plurals are totally regular in Spanish unless Italian. Italian makes use of two axiliary verbs (essere and avere) to form all compound tenses. Not to mention some pronominal particles like ci, vi, ne, ce, ne whose use it mainly idiomatic.These particles don't even exist in Spanish. Only the use of estar and ser may be harder in Spanish than in Italian. The simplicity of Italian is another cliché.
Italian spelling is harder and less predictable than Spanish. Italian has plenty of double consonants bb, cc, dd, ff, ll,mm rr, qq, ss, vv ,nn . Furtherthemore, the use of the graphic accent in Spanish makes the reading of the language easier than in Italian.
Guest   Tue Dec 04, 2007 2:43 pm GMT
Italian can be as different as you want with respect to Spanish, but it is still an easy language for the Spanish speakers.
Guest   Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:26 pm GMT