Whats the difference between portuguese and brazilian portu.

zatsu   Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:18 pm GMT
One particular thing about European Portuguese is that it assimilated many different words from every Portuguese speaking country, words from their indigenous languages. Not only words, but sometimes expressions. Therefore, is a very flexible and rich language.

Saying "Brazilian" is a different language just because people tend to use one sort of sentences is really ridiculous for any European Portuguese; we use them all (just not all the time), they aren't "new", it's all part of Portuguese language.
Of course there are distinctions, like American English and British English. I never met someone who claimed "American" wasn't English though.
You also won't find any Portuguese that states "Brazilian" is a different language.

As I said before, I studied in Brazil and studied Portuguese there. Grammar rules and verb conjugations are the SAME, they are even taught the same way!

<<For instance Brazilian variant uses just 3 or 4 verbal forms for each tense:
eu canto
ele ela voce canta
nos cantamos
eles elas voces cantam
even nos cantamos is often replaced by a gente canta>>

So, what's the difference between Portuguese and "Brazilian"? Remember that some regions in Brazil use "tu" and "nós" a lot. It's not obsolete yet.

<<the inversion is not possible with direct transitive verbs: QUEM AMA VOCE^? means 1. Who loves you? in Brazilian Portuguese but 2. Whom do you love? in Continental Portuguese).>>

? It also means "who loves you" in E.Portuguese.
"Whom do you love" would be "(a) quem você ama"...

<<Brazilians are proud of their way of using the language. They weren't able to chose the language imposed, but at least they have the liberty of using it the way they want. Brazilians will never ''obey the Lisbon-dictated grammar rules''. Get over it. >>