A sample of my accent

Jaro   Wednesday, September 17, 2003, 17:07 GMT
I have recorded a sample of my accent. It should be downloadable as mp3 from the following link:
http://earth.prohosting.com/jarol1/Rainbow_passage.mp3
It was recorded using a cheap Genius PC microphone, so don't stone me for the quality :)

The text I was reading is located in http://www.ku.edu/~idea/index2.html

I've been learning English for 6 years (in fact it's 4 years at high school and 1 year at college, I didn't have English last year, so it's arguable if it's actually 5 or 6 years)
The reason why I'm posting it is, that I tried to improve my pronunciation three months ago. I have listened to BBC radio, and corrected my pronunciation of hundreds of words using Cambridge Advanced Learner's dictionary. My pronunciation was poor, not to mention correct syllable stressing as result of indifferent teachers at high school (mostly), and lack of PC dictionary with a pronunciation. Teachers haven't even explained the IPA (International phonetic alphabet) to us!
For instance, I couldn't pronounce TH sound (both voiced and voiceless), I was pronouncing it as F or D.
I visited some web pages concerning English Phonetics and learned few new consonats and vowels (like ae).

What do you think of my pronunciation? It was supposed to be more British-like. Is it understandable? Which words (or phonemes) are not pronounced correctly?
If you met me on the street, what would you think where am I from?
Jacob   Wednesday, September 17, 2003, 17:28 GMT
Hi -- first of all, your writing is excellent; it's better than a lot of native English speakers manage.

Your accent has room for improvement -- it's understandable, and there weren't any words I couldn't recognize, but it's not easy on the ears. There are some specifics I could pin down about individual sounds, but they don't bother me as much as these two things: