Best Language(s) to Learn

Clark   Friday, October 10, 2003, 06:28 GMT
This topic has been talked about before, but I would like to put a twist on it.

You are American, and your native language is English. Which language(s) would you learn because of an interest in European affairs (news, politics, science, music, etc)?

This is not a thread to see which language is better at what, but if you had to put yourself in the shoes of an English-speaking American who wants to learn about Europe, which language(s) would you learn?
Clark   Friday, October 10, 2003, 06:29 GMT
Oh yeah; one more thing.

Which European language(s) would be easiest for a native English-speaker from America to learn?
Caifornian   Friday, October 10, 2003, 06:41 GMT
Well I am an English speaking American who is very interested in Europe. I studied Spanish (mandatory beginning in 3rd grade) for a few years. In 7th grade we were allowed to choose between Spanish or French so I chose French. Now I am still studying French in high school for my fourth year and believe it is the most valuable language to learn if you want to learn about Europe. Next year I will try and take Italian alongside with French. German is probably the 2nd most valuable European language to learn however, but I really want to speak Italian!
sam   Friday, October 10, 2003, 07:24 GMT
Caifornian
good for you ! you did the good choice.
A.S.C.M.   Friday, October 10, 2003, 08:28 GMT
To Californian:

Spanish was mandatory for you in Grade 3? That makes me all the more curious to find out where you live in California; certainly not in the San Francisco Bay Area!
Jaro   Friday, October 10, 2003, 09:40 GMT
I would choose a language which sounds well to my ears. You should get a recording of all important european languages, and choose the one you think might be interesting for you to learn.

Here is my list of languages sorted according to appeal:
I like: English, French
Neutral: Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Italian