Uune petite question concernant francais

Waqas Usman   Friday, April 16, 2004, 14:47 GMT
Bonjour!
I am just a beginner at French. Today someone told me that "ingénieur de la société X" is wrong, should be "ingénieur chez X" and that "de la société" can only be used with directeur, as in "Directeur de la société X". Such a rule in a language... it doesn't sound right to me.... Or is it true?
Merci bien.
Simon   Friday, April 16, 2004, 15:07 GMT
I think it's because "ingénieur" is a job, not a "rank" in the hierarchy.

So you could be Captain of the HMS Bounty but not "sailor of the HMS Bounty" because to do so would imply you are the only one. I think this is the logic.
Waqas Usman   Friday, April 16, 2004, 15:13 GMT
Yeah I got it. Thanks a lot for the quick reply.
Waqas Usman   Friday, April 16, 2004, 15:17 GMT
Just another thought, on the same yardstick "de la société" can be used with designations like "chef du personnel de la société", "Chef des Ventes", "Directeur Commercial", "Chef comptable" and "Chef de service", right?
...   Friday, April 16, 2004, 16:08 GMT
Hi,
well in fact I think Simon is right and "Directeur chez X" sounds quite strange... but you can use "de la société" or "chez X" with "chef du personnel", "Chef des Ventes", "Directeur Commercial", "Chef comptable" and "Chef de service": both are right!
Axel   Friday, April 16, 2004, 16:20 GMT
It is a bit hard to explain it in English why "Directeur chez X" is wrong: "chez" means for example that you work at somebody's place, and if you are the "directeur" well, you work at your own place! So "directeur chez X" is strange...
On the other hand, if you are "chef des ventes", you work at your director's place that's why you can say "chef des ventes chez"...
I don't think I am clear!!
Lavoisel   Friday, April 16, 2004, 16:27 GMT
Axel, in my opinion you are. ;-)
Waqas Usman   Saturday, April 17, 2004, 21:04 GMT
Thanks... in my opinion all of you are ;)
Monsieur   Saturday, April 17, 2004, 23:25 GMT