Who decides what english words will be in other languages?

megan   Tuesday, May 04, 2004, 00:14 GMT
Hey. I'm an American high school student learning Spanish, and I have a question I was wondering for a long while... Who decides what English words will be in other languages?

example1: computers were invented in America, so who decided they would be called computadoras in spanish??

example 2: I learned that what the Chinese people call their country translates to "Middle Kingdom" so who decided on China?? or what about Germany/ Deutchland?? Why cant we just call it Deutchland if that's what they call themselves??

I hope somebody has the answer to this, because i will always wonder
Dulcinea del Toboso   Tuesday, May 04, 2004, 02:00 GMT
Good questions.

The "decision" of how borrowed words appear in a language is performed by the most democratic method possible: by the people themselves through their own acquired knowledge of how their language "works". For example, in the case you cited, "computador", Spanish speaking people instinctively know that the -ador suffix signifies someone or something that performs an act. They adapt this suffix to the new word because it "feels right" in their own language. Sometimes, however, languages borrow foreign words intact (I think "email" is one example).

As for names of countries, often an ancient name used among trading nations during the middle ages is what gets used today. "Deutschland" as the name of a country probably didn't exist more than 150 years ago (that is, the unified nation of Germany/Deutschland didn't exist that long ago). So many of the names countries call themselves today are relatively new.
megan   Friday, May 07, 2004, 01:07 GMT
Thanks! I apreciate it!
Josh   Saturday, May 08, 2004, 00:57 GMT
Computers en Francais est l'ordinateurs. Which is a lot more confusing than computadoras.
Josh   Saturday, May 08, 2004, 01:00 GMT