Can i improve my english by reading books?

lo drac dins lo bòsc   Tuesday, May 04, 2004, 10:54 GMT
Hello everybody!
I'd like to improve my english since I haven't had the opportunity to practice it since the college (now i'm 23).I understand very well written english, the news on BBC too (CNN and the US news are most more difficult to understand), I can read any book, but I'd like to speak and write more fluently. I'm studying spanish, I know by latin american friends that I've got a good nivel (some believe I'm chilean, why chilean? i don't know), so i think it's possible to reach the same level in english, the only difficulty is that i cannot practice with english speakers since i don't know any.But maybe by reading and reading again I will succeed, no?
Boy   Tuesday, May 04, 2004, 11:20 GMT
I share you a real thing that just happened with me yesterday. My friends and I were waiting at a stop for a bus, a girl of my age, 16 or 17 came to me and she asked me in fluent English about a specific address and which bus would go there. I understood every word of her English effortlessly. Now it was a real exam of my English skills in a real life situation. I never had a chance to practice with someone who knew English well. I hardly speak English but I do READING and LOOK UP words daily. You know what, I had a hard time to tell her the exact address and the bus number but I explained it, though. I took some time to speak my sentences and in mean while that girl was staring at me with strange eyes as she did not like my way of speaking. Anyway, I tried to give her the answer in English. I just simply don't understand why it is so difficult to speak even one's brain has enough inputs in order to explain atleast PLACE address. Someone does not need to acquire a million English sentences to speak two or three sentences, do they?