Weird words in German

Xatufan   Friday, August 06, 2004, 02:56 GMT
I read in a book that "den", "dem" and "des" mean "the". But I thought "the" was "der", "die" and "das"...

So what do "den", "dem" and "des" mean???

Thanks.
Dulcinea del Toboso   Friday, August 06, 2004, 04:35 GMT
"dem" is the dative form of "der" and "das". You don't say "auf der" or "auf das", but rather "auf dem".

"des" is the genitive form of "der" and "das".

"den" is the accusative form of "der".

If you search for German grammar on the web, I'm sure you'll find some tables for the definite and indefinite article.

Although German nouns don't show much inflection, the articles and adjectives still do.
Xatufan   Friday, August 06, 2004, 14:26 GMT
Well, there's a book called "Piraten aus dem Weltraum" (Pirats from space). You can see "dem" in this sentence.

I'm just a child, so can you explain me what is genitive, dative and accusative???
Denis   Friday, August 06, 2004, 17:11 GMT
Xatufan

I'm not an expert in German but I can tell what it's all about.
Genitive, dative and accusative are so-called grammatical cases.
In a nutshell cases indicate how nouns ("naming words": table, chair, space, year etc.) interact with other words in a sentence. Cases correspond to the questions you would ask for the omitted words in a sentence.

For example if in the sentence bellow you omit the word "paper" you'll ask
"piece OF WHAT?"

This is a piece of paper.

Here the word "paper" is in genitive.

Different languages utilize different number of cases and different case markers.
German uses case article and noun endigs (different for singular and plural and genders) for this.

So,

"Der" (Wer? - Who?) is the nominative case form of the definite article for nouns of masculine gender in singular.
Des - genitive
Dem - dative
Den - accusative

etc.

German speakers correct me if I'm wrong somewhere.
Goran   Friday, August 06, 2004, 17:20 GMT