"Did you see it?"

Tom   Wednesday, September 08, 2004, 13:47 GMT
Suppose I was a teacher who gave his students a homework assignment to watch a program on TV on a specific day. The program is a series and this particular part of the series will be aired only on that day.

It is now the next class. Do you think I can ask my students "Have you seen the program?".
Mi5 Mick   Wednesday, September 08, 2004, 14:08 GMT
"Did you see the program?" would be the wording because you had previously introduced it and set them them the task of watching it. Another example: " 'Governation' made its premiere last night on the big screen. Did you catch it?"

However,
"There's a new program out called 'Homer Pilon'; have you seen it?" ~ are you aware of the program? You are introducing the idea for the first time, assuming they're unaware of it.
Mi5 Mick   Wednesday, September 08, 2004, 14:12 GMT
Another example: " 'Governation' made its premiere last night on the big screen. Did you catch it?" : because everyone was waiting in expectation for its release.
Ant_222   Wednesday, September 08, 2004, 14:53 GMT
Tom, it would be despondently for me to learn such a simple phrase as an exeption. I would prefer to understand it as obeying the rules. As I understand, if you didn't know that most of people use the Past Simple and knew only bare grammar you would use the Present Perfect in the streaker case. Am I right? Is English for you a non-national language?