how many languages...

Sanja   Monday, September 13, 2004, 14:52 GMT
Bosnian (Croatian, Serbian) - native
English - pretty good, but I still have to improve a lot of things
Mxsmanic   Tuesday, September 14, 2004, 03:04 GMT
One fear I've had is that I might diminish my proficiency in French if I learn a third language. Can anyone who has learned a large number of languages confirm or deny a basis for this fear?

In general, it's more important to me to maintain proficiency in French than to learn additional languages, so if I have to choose between the two, I won't learn any more languages.
Steve K   Tuesday, September 14, 2004, 03:17 GMT
Mxman

I respect your perspective on language learning. I ask you to believe me. The more languages you learn, the better you get at languages. I studied in France for three years in the early 1960's, after growing up in Quebec where I had French as a second language in school. I studied Mandarin full time for close to a year in 1968, but ewas still getting started on languages. I remember that for a long time I thought Russian sounded like Protuguese.

Now I have learned more languages. I speak French and Mandarin better now than when I left France or Hong Kong.

Speaking foreign languages is a skill. The more you do it, the better you get. Go for another language. You will enjoy it, and you will lose nothing. You will confuse your French at first, especially if you learn another Romance language. But when you need to focus back on French, get together with les copains, watch a movie, listen to an audiobook and you will be back on track, and do better than ever. I do not think that anything can disturb the languages that I have mastered. I keep books and audiobooks around just to be sure. Or for Italian I just go to www.ilnarratore.com.