Do You Translate Back Into Your Native Language?

Joe   Wednesday, October 20, 2004, 03:48 GMT
I'm really interested in knowing when those of you who are bi- or multilingual read or hear something, do you process it in your head directly and understand the language without having to translate it back to your native tongue, or do you find yourself having to translate things back in your head before you can understand or say something.

At the moment, I've been studying German for three months (not including the time to prep to start learning it, meaning learning pronunciation and spelling rules), and I think I've been making incredible progress. For some things, I can understand it directly in German, but the more complex it gets the more I find myself trying to translate it into English.

This causes a problem, because there is no direct translation between any language. I keep trying to directly translate things though, and it can become frustrating and impede my progress.

So I'm curious to find out how you all go about it. With experience do you eventually gain the ability to know something without having to think of the native counterpart?
zen guy   Wednesday, October 20, 2004, 05:22 GMT
i just understand it directly. you have to feel the language in order to learn it. i know it sounds very zen and buddhist to say such a thing but it is true, you do have to feel one with the tongue.

i learned german on my own and i too made really good progress. this is perhaps because i've been speaking english for 15 years, but also because i just try to think in the language. i talk to myself in the target language whenever i get the chance, so in order to become good at it, you have to become insanse a little bit.