You're ignorant, kiddo!

Fredrik from Norway   Sunday, January 16, 2005, 18:19 GMT
I was tempted to look at the best discussions from 2003 (don't be afraid, I also have a life, I was drunk with several friends yesterday, if that is an ok definition of having a life) and saw there had been a discussion about the word "kid". Some guy had thought it strange and funny that the normal slang word for child also was used about a young goat.

But hey, don't these people understand that it is the other way around!? That at some point in history people started calling children "kids" because they were acting just like small goats, jumping and fooling around. When I started learning English and heard of the word "kid" it instantly struck me as very cute to call children "young goats". In the same way a grandmother on Swedish tv called her small grandchild "granny's small pig"!
american nic   Sunday, January 16, 2005, 22:06 GMT
Huh...I speak English, and I've never made the connection between kid meaning child and kid meaning young goat...I always though they were totally separate words.
Fredrik from Norway   Sunday, January 16, 2005, 22:22 GMT
Strange! I thought it was obvious! But I will look it up. I did though just think of, that "kid" meaning child may come from the verb "kid", or the other way around. But there has to be some connection when two words describing small, cute, playful creatures are identical (although I know kid can also mean adolescent).

By the way, guess what kid (small goat) is called in Danish?
Kid! So it's probably a word that English got from the Vikings.
Fredrik from Norway   Sunday, January 16, 2005, 22:28 GMT
I found the etymology, in the Online Etymology Dictionary:

http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?l=k&p=1

kid (n.)