YOU pronounciation!

Nick   Monday, March 07, 2005, 15:24 GMT
As a telephone support agent, i receive calls from different people with different accents. I must have heard all types of american accent there is if not most of them, that is. Well quite a lot of people i speak with pronounce the word "YOU" as "yuh-ow", instead of just "yu". Most of the times they sound southern but i'm not sure, of course (including the race). I don't know if it's just my ears or some of americans really pronounce this word in such a way.
safe   Monday, March 07, 2005, 18:53 GMT
i hope to know english phonetics
thank
you
Kirk   Monday, March 07, 2005, 19:36 GMT
I've noticed a lot of younger speakers (at least here in California) have a distinct diphthong in the [u] of "you", which sometimes does seem to have a mid-starting point [..] or maybe a fronted [o] and ends somewhere around [u]. I think I've even heard [j..o]. I've also heard it in "do". I first noticed it while I was working at Jamba Juice (a juice/smoothie place) for several months and noticed that my coworkers and I were using this diphthongized [u] especially in the phrase "thank you", which we must've said hundreds of times a shift to customers, so I had plenty of chances to observe. I think I hear it most often in a phrase like "thank you" when there's a pause after it--if "you" is said in the middle of the normal stream of conversation it still seems like [ju] is the norm.

It's an interesting development because [u] here is usually high, fronted, generally unrounded, and a monophthong, but maybe in such high frequency words ending in [u] like "you" and "do" before a pause this new trend to diphthongize it is popping up.