Easiest Slavic language for an English/Romance speaker?

J.C.   Sun May 25, 2008 5:52 pm GMT
"This is my issue with Polish.

Frankly, most people would think I had "lost it" if I started studying Polish
"seriously". I'm willing to listen to anyone who loves this language, though."
K.Tさん:Maybe we should support each other to study Polska because most people accused me of being "el loco" for studying a language rare in Brazil (There are some poles in southern Brazil).I had an intensive course(6 months) at UFRJ in 1993.
Did you use a specific book? How about dictionaries?
Djiękuję!
Xie   Mon May 26, 2008 1:03 am GMT
J.C. : 外语教学与研究出版社 and 上海译文出版社 are two giant publishers of language books. All that the Chinese don't have are 1) FSI, 2) Michel Thomas, 3) Pimsleur, 4) Assimil, and 5) courses for rarely learned languages in China. Chinese isn't much behind Japanese as an important language of instruction, even though I've been often out of luck to find some for European languages. The most significant missing part is ORAL courses, but it's been quite impressive for a country like this. In 3 decades they've already come up with so many....

Well, back to "Slavic": most language programs might only be for Chinese students, but they could certainly study quite a few of them there...probably except Belorussian. Popularity explains everything.... and Russian has always been somewhat known, at least by name... so, even for a very "homogeneous" (this is actually false) country, the typical hot regional languages are now more or less the same as they are. Russian is still a typical academic example among linguists there...