Should everyone learn English alone at home?

Randall   Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:54 pm GMT
I think Antimoon's methods are good.

Should everyone learn English alone at home? I mean without going to English classes.
Johnny   Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:00 am GMT
I've been learning it all by myself, no teachers, no classes at all, just me and my pc. I'm still learning. Nowadays, if you have a good connection to the internet, there are so many resources online and available in the form of books and CDs that most learners could well do without any teachers.
Grammar books and other material provided the basics;
Monolingual dictionaries for learners (Oxford, Longman, etc.) provide meanings, examples and usage;
The internet provides all the material for practicing whatever you want, reading, listening (youtube, radios, etc.), etc. Internet forums provide interaction with native speakers and make it possible to ask questions and get different answers.

The worst part is getting started. It's easy to give up and take the wrong approach. It's really stressful... Until you reach a certain level and you realize you are starting to enjoy English for real. Then you can say "I almost have the power" :-)
Skippy   Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:45 am GMT
Learning alone is fine if you can sit down, focus, and do it. Those of us for whom that is a problem usually just end up taking classes :-) Of course, I can't speak for learning English, but I never would have learned the limited German I know without courses and traveling to Germany.
shine_core   Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:44 am GMT