Teaching the Antimoon Method

Kenneth Arcieri   Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:34 am GMT
Dear Antimoon and community,

I am a teacher of the English language right now in Japan and I am very interested in how to implement the Antimoon method into classroom learning. I meet with my students once a week for now and I want to give them this different approach to learning English.

Would it be helpful to help them construct their own sentences and content for a SRS program? Would it be helpful to cover grammar points and then make sentences for them? I'm not quite sure what is useful and what is not. I am learning Japanese and I have been applying the antimoon method to that, but that is all private study. Thinking of how to bring this to the classroom [I do have 90 minutes to do everything....] is challange, but I think it would be a lot more helpful that doing such "fun" content as self introductions and 'this is a pen'

Best,
Ken
Xie   Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:08 am GMT
I'm thinking about this too now. But there are some interesting thoughts:

OP, how are you going to encourage your students to use SRS? Can it be done in class? At home? In real terms, you might risk spending more than enough time on introducing SRS programs to them alone...

When I recall what I did at high school (namely, I did a lot of self-study out of "personal" motivation, rather than having been encouraged verbally), I can see that my teachers had often been quite hopeless - they had more admin work than work with the kids. We weren't even doing vocab drills with dry word lists; we simply did countless past exam. papers... with nearly no focus on vocab, pronunciation and grammar (my teachers would only say "learn on your own", and they didn't have the time to chit-chat and tell us what we could do - and, essentially, something entertaining).