Northern British accent?

Guest   Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:31 pm GMT
Hello,

I've been listening to different English accents for a few years now, and after focussing on American English for a while, I decided to study British English.
I especially like the Northern accent for some reason, and I wanted to know if someone could help me write down the specificities of Northern British English.
I noticed that the sound that you found in 'pub' or 'shut' often sounds more like the o of the word 'book'.
Apparently, there's also a tendency to drop the h in certain circumstances and to do the same with the th and to lengthen the 'long a' sound.
However, I'm sure there are other things that give away a Northern British accent. That's why I need your help because there are probably native speakers from Great Britain here :)

P.S.: I'm asking this question for listening comprehension purposes mainly, since around a third of the programmes that I watch on a regular basis are shot somewhere in the North.
Guest   Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:49 pm GMT
I can respond more fully at a later time but before ah has to go aht t'poob wi me mairts I just wannt to tell thee that thurr be several kinds of Northern British accents, including Scottish if you'll allow me to be pedantic.

Do you just mean Northern ENGLISH accents? Just to complicate things even further, there are variations there too! Lancashire - Cumbrian - East Yorkshire - North Yorkshire - West Yorkshire - Geordie - Scouse......
Very noticeable differences in them all really, but the main feature is the flat letter "A"....a commonality there I reckon.
Guest   Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:45 pm GMT
Haha, I love your answer!
Yes, Northern English accents will do. I know that there isn't one Northern accent. I'm most interested in the first new 'Doctor Who' accent and generally Lancashire / Great Manchester / Cumbrian accents because that's where the programmes I watch are shot or that's the city of origin of the actors.