Could you comment on my English?

Kaz   Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:03 pm GMT
Hello, about a few months ago I asked you to listent to my English and I got very useful comments from many of
you. I was told that my English was not bad, but still you were able to point out lots of things that I had to improve.

Since then I studied my English carefully. And now I feel I made a significant improvement. I wonder if you could listen again and tell me what you think.

http://www.estat.us/kaz/eigo/kazfinalversion4.wav

To give you my backgrounds, I am Japanese and learned English in Japan by listening to radio English conversation starting from junior high. I live in America now.

Thanks for your time.
Sander   Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:35 pm GMT
It is ... PERFECT! :)
Deborah   Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:36 pm GMT
Kaz, nice to hear from you again. I looked up your posts in the archive, but I can no longer hear your earlier samples, so I can't really make a comparison. However, your current sample sounds very good. Here's what I heard that could be worked on:

- to get very tired of sitting: sounds like "to get very tired of siing"

- considering: I can barely hear the "d"

Those two are obviously related.

- so very much - you could pronounce the "y" a bit stronger, as it sounded cut off

- afterwards - I couldn't hear the "d".

Generallly, I thought the second half sounded clearer than the first half, which may have something to do with the fact that you slowed down a bit.
Kaz   Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:51 am GMT
Thanks, Sander and Deborah,

Seems like I am having difficulty with D. consiDering is mysteriously difficult. But when D occurs in other places, it is easier.

I wonder if I can do "afterwards" if I try.

Is D pronounced at the same time as the following S?

Kaz
Murray Christmas   Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:00 am GMT
Kaz,

What's your native language?
Astronomy   Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:08 am GMT
Here's the address to my space forum http://17.freebb.com/index.php?freebb=otheruniverses