Audio sample for shadow technique?

nick   Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:49 pm GMT
http://www.2shared.com/file/4536598/34735e1b/02_Preface.html
That's a sample from the audio book, The Anatomy of Peace, read by Oliver Wyman, who is a native New Yorker. I want to learn New York accent, please tell me if he is a good speaker by listening to the sample. Thank you very much.
ColinRolf   Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:59 pm GMT
Not enough New York influence, by far. His speech is closer to General American.
nick   Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:01 pm GMT
http://us.macmillan.com/author/oliverwyman right on this website, it says he is a native New Yorker. Maybe he changed his accent.
Jasper   Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:44 pm GMT
Nick, it's hard to say. I'm not an expert--merely a student--albeit one with a certain level of knowledge and a good set of ears, but Wyman's speech does not reflect what we Americans normally consider when we think of a New York accent.

A New York accent as we know it is better represented by people such as Judge Judy, Ed Koch, et. al.,. Their speech is characterized by the lack of the cot/caught merger, non-rhoticity, vowel-raising in certain circumstances, some nasalization, pronunciation of "th" as "t", etc. It has been suggested that these features of New York City speech are disappearing, but the jury's still out on that notion.

It's possible that Wyman is code-switching, anyway. You will probably want to get a consensus from fellow Antimooners on this issue before you reach a final conclusion.
Estel   Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:56 pm GMT
Well, I think he sounds pretty neutral and that's probably because he "is known for his extensive work as a reader of audiobooks." He's gotta sound pretty neutral because of his job.

He's an exceptional speaker, of course. It's his career to speak after all. But he's not a good model if you want to learn the typical New York accent. From the audio file, he lacks what a typical New Yorker would have as Jasper have stated.