"ise" vs "ize"

frustrated   Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:49 pm GMT
Hello all,

i wrote a paper for my chemistry class and i used "ise" endings. for example, realise instead of realize. My teacher marked me wrong for these spellings, however i do know that they are acceptable. Can someone find me an article that points out that "ise" endings are acceptable, even if "ize" endings are preferred? I am a canadian student, if it makes any difference.

thanks!
Skippy   Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:30 pm GMT
Typically, 'ise' is used in the UK and 'ize' in the US.
Caspian   Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:59 pm GMT
That's silly, surely if the teacher understands and it's spelt correctly by American or English standards, then as long as you get the number of atoms on the outer shell of carbon right, it shouldn't make any difference with chemistry!

In Britain we use 'ise'. You're in Canada, and Canada uses British spelling rules, so it should be accepted...
asdf   Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:07 pm GMT
Canada uses either British or American spelling rules. However, a set of Canadian spelling rules has evolved. It's about 1/2 American, 1/2 British. -ize endings are preferred.
an einstein   Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:18 pm GMT
the number of atoms on the outer shell of carbon? What's that?
asdf   Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:33 pm GMT
From Wikipedia:
"Words such as realize and recognize are usually spelled with -ize rather than -ise...(The etymological convention that verbs derived from Greek roots are spelled with -ize and those from Latin with -ise is preserved in that practice.)"

Thus "realize" has -ize, but improvise has -ise.