Romance languages

Kelly Key   Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:18 pm GMT
English syntax is close to Brazilian Portuguese:

I am studying = Eu estou estudando.
I've been studying. = Eu ando estudando.
I've studied = Eu tenho estudado.
I studied = Eu estudei.
I used to study = Eu estudava.
I was studying = Eu estava estudando.
If I studied, I would... = Se eu estudasse, eu iria...
If I had studied, I would have... = Se eu tivesse estudado, eu teria...
Continue studying! = Continue estudando!
I'm going to study = Eu vou estudar.
I may have studied = Eu posso ter estudado.
You shouldn't have done this = Você não deveria ter feito isso.
It's for me to see. = É para eu ver.
For you to get a bus = Para você pegar o ônibus
I don't want you to smoke, I want you live = Eu não quero você fumando, eu quero você vivo!
Leasnam   Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:07 pm GMT
<<I don't agree. Romance languages are very conservative (except FRench) in some morphological features, like verbs. English and most Germanic languages are very innovative. >>

I was not speaking to morphological features, but to syntax specifically
Leasnam   Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:11 pm GMT
<<English syntax is close to Brazilian Portuguese:>>

Yes! But this is not due to convergence or even influence: the processes in both languages leading to this type of syntax-alignment were completely independent of one another.

If you really think about it, there aren't a whole lot of ways to logically place words in a sentence analytically without showing parallelism between languages. Even totally unrelated languages can show similar syntactical design.
Latinate   Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:15 pm GMT
Why not convergence? Perhaps English and Romance language belong to a kind of sprachraum .
linguist   Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:16 pm GMT
If I studied, I would... = Se eu estudasse, eu iria...
If I had studied, I would have... = Se eu tivesse estudado, eu teria