Getting Paid to Learn Languages

LL   Sun Feb 08, 2009 3:11 am GMT
It happens, you know, on occasion. Sometimes a company will send an employee to a language center to learn French if the company is going to do business in Canada.

I joked on another thread about being paid to learn Arabic. Actually, I think money is a great motivator to learn a language. What language would you learn if they PAID you to learn it?

I would try harder to learn Vietnamese and Korean. I am slightly acquainted with them, but I need more motivation.
J.C.   Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:24 am GMT
I really wished someone paid me for studying languages because I need a bigger motivation than just "increasing" the number of languages I know.
Right now I'm studying French, Dutch and Chinese but don't know how I'll use them living in Japan...I've heard that Mandarin is in demand in Brazil and that would be a big boost to study. Other than that it will be useless even if I become fluent...

You talked about Korean...Well, I studied for 1 years about 10 years ago and I could even use it here on Osaka since there are many Korean-Japanese here but the question is: Is it really useful to learn a language that you'll use just to talk to friends? I believe my biggest motivation learning Korean is that there are many christians in Korea so there's a lot of christian music I would like to listen. Also, I got 2 christian-related books I want to read...

Cheers!!
okos   Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:28 am GMT
Fortunately money is not all in my country as in the US, but If I had more time I'd learn Arabic, Basque and a Caucasian language, probably Georgian
hijodeputa   Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:28 am GMT
What about military translators. They get paid.
LL   Mon Feb 09, 2009 12:46 am GMT