Opinions of speaker usage

Dan   Mon May 18, 2009 1:53 pm GMT
<<<I was educated in international, British and American schools where English was the universal medium of communication>>>

Do we need a comma before international, there?
Dan   Mon May 18, 2009 1:54 pm GMT
Sorry, I meant "after international".
Mufti   Mon May 18, 2009 1:57 pm GMT
<<However, I'm a fan of clarity and precision. I'm not a grammar freak, but as a scientist, I value precision above all else. >>

You must be a bowl of fun to chat with down the local boozer. C'mon, Haggis, lighten up.
rapp   Mon May 18, 2009 3:54 pm GMT
<<Would you expect that speaker to be an educated speaker, i.e. a quality-speaker, of English? >>

Yes. We don't go around sounding like Shakespeare all the time. In informal settings, informal speech is the norm. I am assuming that the identity of the girl who has the porsche, and the guy who has a girlfriend were established earlier in the conversation. If so, great; the sentence is fine. If not, it is too sloppy and needs to be re-worded. But even in that case, native speakers sometimes mistakenly assume the listener knows who a pronoun refers to, so I wouldn't jump to a conclusion about the speaker's ability from this one sentence.

<<But that type of English usage isn't much found in English as a Second or Other Language (ESOL) classrooms, is it?>>

I don't know. I'm a native English speaker, so I've never been part of such a class. But probably not.

<<hongkonger's "significantly" anecdote>>

That's a tricky situation. Whether I agree with you or your professors depends on context. If you were presenting a paper, or discussing research results amongst a group of scientists, I would agree with your professors. In that case "significant" is really scientific jargon, not standard English.

If you were discussing the research in a group that included a significant (hah!) number of laymen, who might not understand the scientific jargon use of the term, I would side with you.