How much input do I need to not meet any new words any more?

Quintus   Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:23 pm GMT
That's the spirit !- Make a collection : Keep a notebook (yes, pen and paper) of the unaccustomed words and phrases that you encounter in English. Keep at them, circumnavigating the little bastards till you've planted the flag, claimed them for King and Country and made them your own.

Most of those words that you said gave you trouble (coterie, detritus, lucre, mêlée) are borrowings from Latin and French, so some having knowledge of those languages (or taking a one-year course in each) will help considerably.

Pick up a copy of MODERN ENGLISH USAGE by H. W. Fowler in the second edition edited by Gowers (not the third edition by someone else, which is too terribly modern). Fowler will prove an invaluable helpmate in your quest.
Vytenis   Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:35 pm GMT
Actually I recently started learning French for this very reason. It seems English has as many occasional borrowings from French as Lithuanian (and other ex-Soviet Union languages) has from Russian, i.e. practically any word or expression can be borrowed at any time if a speaker feels like it...
Quintus   Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:07 pm GMT
True, but I was referring not merely to the "occasional borrowings" from Modern French, but more particularly to all the profound changes in English that came with the Norman conquest in 1066.
Quintus   Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:11 pm GMT
For those readers who are still learning about this, I should add that the Conquest of England in the year 1066 by William the Bastard and his Normans brought widespread influence of French to bear upon the English language.
Vytenis   Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:33 am GMT