Theory of learning spoken english

Daniel   Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:15 pm GMT
Hello
I'm italian, boy and going on 18
Unfortunately in my art accademy english is not a matter so I had to self-taught english to myself using a dictionary, movies and novels
I still think my written english is terrible but my spoken english is even worse
I have to admit I haven't paid enough attention to spoken language and pronunciation so as I read english words I listen the wrong pronunciation in my mind related to the way characters and or groups of characters are pronounced in my language. For example I've mentally pronounced "OWN" as "avuan" for a long time as I encountered this on sentences.

I have debated many times the conventional belief that age is correlated to success on those disciplines that require something to become your second nature: for example age and ballet, age and piano, age and composition all those matters where a young age is thought to be necessary to make the information you learn subconscious. And I have seen this belief debunked many times.
I believe that there's a correlation but the correlation is not between age and learning but between learning and those conditions that are socially favourable to learning and which are more likely to exist in young age (more free time, less stress about passing time, less competition, more open-mindedness, less cultural brainwashing, more spontaneity, less fear to do wrong or be ridiculed and so on) and even an older person knowing this can seek those favourable conditions

A further aspect though I believe plays a role in learning a language and it is "muscular habits".

This is my theory:
It's often observed that children can learn a second language perfectly and if they learn it soon enough no one will recognize they're not native speakers when they speak on the other hand adults that learn a second language will always pronounce the words not as perfectly as if they were native speakers