should a male have a male or a female teacher?

mike   Sat Aug 12, 2006 6:24 am GMT
Before making my question sounds stupied, read this first. I studied chinese for a year from a female teacher. After four years, When i speak chinese with natives, some "smart" of them could tell that I had the language from a female!. I was told that there are some expresions and sound levels which varies between males and females. I know that this gap between the two gender is even bigger (a real big difference) in Japanees language. If a man chooses to depends soley on femals to learn that langauge, this will put him in funny situations -- opps ..

...the new "gay" in town !...just joking!

are there any similar cases in other languages??
lu   Sat Aug 12, 2006 6:36 am GMT
interesting, can you raise an example in chinese?
I never noticed that untill you mentioned it.
Joey   Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:02 am GMT
Brennus

(Also, none of the major languages of the world seem to be characterized by strong male and female differences. I read about them existing mainly in tribal languages with small speaking populations.)

Portuguese has one word that that is gender based and that being

obrigado (thank you) masculine

obrigada (thank you) feminine

but if you have a good teacher he/she should point that out.

The rest of the language is gender based but is mostly affected by the nouns that are used.
Uriel   Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:54 pm GMT
I think Russian has different verb endings for male and female speakers. That's a major language of the world.
Guest   Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:01 pm GMT
That is the case in romance languages, where a phrase canno't be said by a man/women the same way :

Je suis belle (women)
Je suis beau (man)

etc.
zxczxc   Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:12 pm GMT
Just think about it in English... a woman could describe another as "bubbly", but if a man used that word he'd be given an odd look.
Uriel   Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:23 pm GMT