Gotten

Geoffrey Saxby-Louis   Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:13 pm GMT
I am rather new to the world of computers and the internet so I shall be absolutely amazed if this succeeds.
Can I ask about the word "gotten"?. I can honestly say I have never used the word "gotten" and was surprised to hear it used by another member at the club last weekend. I am intrigued to know who uses the word.
Calliope   Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:31 pm GMT
American English speakers. "Gotten" as in "forgotten". I'm surprised you'd never heard of it before.
Liz   Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:43 pm GMT
GEOFFREY:

Where do you live? If you are American, you must have heard it many times. If you aren't, you must have heard about it, too. That comes up ever so often in films / song lyrics. I'm rather surprised you haven't heard it yet.

P.S. Oh, sorry...you are not likely to be American since your name is spelt as "Geoffrey" and not "Jeffrey". That seems to be typically British. Or is this spelling used in the US, too? I don't know because I'm not American. :-)

Cheers,
Liz
Liz   Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:48 pm GMT
Oh...you are from the South!!! Well, then I can understand your problems. The use of "gotten" is not *that* typical down there... :-)

By the way...not to be presumptious, but are you a nobleman or suchlike? Your posh hyphenated family name gives the impression that you are...
zzz   Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:40 pm GMT
A hyphenated family name doesn't necessarily indicate nobility. I have a hyphenated name and I'm not noble.
Geoffrey Saxby-Louis   Tue Feb 27, 2007 4:57 pm GMT
My goodness!. I have some replies.
I have heard people use "gotten" on the television but never by any of the chaps and ladies round here.

Liz:
As you have surmised I am not American and I live in the South of England.

People often spell my first name incorrectly. Can I blame the Americans? ;-). (I do hope those symbols have the intended meaning)