I really hate my accent.[really long story]

xprain   Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:42 pm GMT
Hello there, I am a Korean student studying in Ireland since 2005.
It's been nearly 2 years exclude the months I spent in Korea during the summers.

I am 19 years old and I came to Ireland when I was 17. I went school in Ireland and I made friends with many Irish,Irish-American,Irish-Australian,Irish-English and Irish-Scottish.

They were born in abroad and grew up in there up till 12~14 and they came back to Ireland.

As I grew up in Korea (there is no need to mention that I am from South Korea, of course) for 17 years I have spoken Korean a hell of a lot more than English. Of course I've been studying English since primary school like Irish people study Irish in school till 17.

So It's been almost 2 years that I started speak English more than Korean and mix with only English speakers.

Despite of being exposed in an English speaking country 24/7, my accent is still the strong Asian accent that I hate so much. My pronounciation has gotten better though. Maybe it's just because of my voice but I am sure that my accent is a strong Asian accent. A strong Korean accent to be specific.

I wish I could come over here when I was very young that I could pick up those uncountable English expressions and vocabulary. Even the accents.
Any accents just not the Asian accents as Korean,Japanese and Chinese accents. I also don't like the Indian accent.

I want to sound fluent. Of course I do study English language and my mates have been helping me out either pronounciation or accent or grammar. But above of all the only thing really matters me is my accent!!!

I feel like somewhat inferior and I am ashamed of my accent. I always ask people. "Do I sound funny?" most times people say "No." generally.