Which accent should I choose to speak Spanish?

Roberto   Mon May 14, 2007 9:01 pm GMT
Hi,
I'm studying spanish, I love this language but I wonder with which accent must I speak. Because I've noticed there are a lot of various accents and in order to speak fluently a language you must identify with a country or an accent in particular. I don't want the spanish-speaking people think I am a foreigner. So which accent shoud you recommend to me?

Saludos,
Soy un estudiante en español, me encanta esa lengua pero me pregunto con qué acento debo hablar. Porque noté que hay una gran variedad de acentos y para mejor hablar creo que uno se debe identificar con un pais o un acento en particular, porque no quiero que la gente hispanohablante piense que soy extranjero. Cual acento me recomendaria?
Condorito   Mon May 14, 2007 9:04 pm GMT
El argentino me parece adecuado para vos
Guest   Mon May 14, 2007 9:55 pm GMT
A neutral accent is always best.
furrykef   Mon May 14, 2007 10:11 pm GMT
The only thing I can recommend is find one you like and go for it.

Don't forget that you have to decide not only on accent, but vocabulary. Different countries use different words for things. The words you use by default should ideally match your accent. I say "computadora" rather than "ordenador", so I'd use a Latin American accent of some kind.

- Kef
acentos   Tue May 15, 2007 4:48 pm GMT
El español es un único idioma. Todos los hispanohablantes, sean de donde sean se entienden a la perfección, pese a sus diferentes acentos y léxicos, estas son diferencias salvables con la buena voluntad. No es necesario que te dediques a imitar un acento en particular ni que, mucho menos, te "identifiques" con un habla. Si tienes un buen profesor aprenderás un español estándar, comprensible en todo el mundo.
Guest   Tue May 15, 2007 5:01 pm GMT